This and That – 04-01-17

Why I Didn’t Sing When I Visited Your Church – …I couldn’t hear the congregation sing. I wanted to learn from the people around me, but I couldn’t hear them. A lot of them seemed to be singing along, but they were far quieter than the band. Don’t get me wrong, I love loud music and often crank it to silly levels when I’m at home or in my car. (I’ve even got it at an obnoxious level as I write these words.) But as I understand it from Colossians 3:16, a key element of congregational worship is hearing the congregation. Singing is in the realm of “one-another” ministry, meaning that we are to sing for the other people there. But that was tough because… – Tim Challies

What Is R.C. Sproul’s Position on Creation? – Genesis says that God created the universe and everything in it in six twenty-four-hour periods. According to the Reformation hermeneutic, the first option is to follow the plain sense of the text. One must do a great deal of hermeneutical gymnastics to escape the plain meaning of Genesis 1-2. – R.C. Sproul

Dear Absent Church Member – I’ll never rant in the pulpit about your absenteeism. I’m always going to preach to the ones who are present. But I want you to know how much I care about you. I want you to understand that my greatest joy would be to see you love God and His church and to observe you growing in Christ. …You’re part of the flock God has entrusted to me, and every sheep is precious. You’re not just a number. – Daryl Cornett

 

Leave a Reply

